Program Information

The 75th Annual Meeting will begin on Sunday, November 20, 2022, and end on Tuesday, November 22, 2022. The technical program and schedule will be available in late September. The Award Sessions, Invited Talks, Minisymposia, and most Focus Sessions will be recorded at the conference and available on the virtual platform.

Awards Program

Each year the APS Division of Fluid Dynamics presents the Fluid Dynamics Prize, the Francois N. Frenkiel Award, the Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award, and the Stanley Corrsin Award. The 2022 award winners, each of whom will give a lecture at the meeting, will be announced in the Fall.

Fluid Dynamics Prize

This prize is awarded for outstanding contributions to fundamental fluid dynamics research. It was established in 1979 with support from the Office of Naval Research. In 2004, the Otto Laporte Award was combined with the Fluid Dynamics Prize so that the Division of Fluid Dynamics would have a single major prize – the Fluid Dynamics Prize. The prize is now supported by the Division of Fluid Dynamics, friends of Otto Laporte and the APS journal, Physical Review Fluids. It is awarded for outstanding contributions to fundamental fluid dynamics research. Learn more >>

Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award in Fluid Dynamics

This award recognizes exceptional early-career scientists who have performed original doctoral thesis work of outstanding scientific quality and achievement in fluid dynamics. It was established in 1998 to honor the many outstanding contributions to fluid mechanics of Dr. Andreas Acrivos, particularly his years of distinguished editorship of Physics of Fluids. It is supported by donations from members and friends of the Division of Fluid Dynamics. Learn more >>

Stanley Corrsin Award

This award recognizes and encourages a particularly influential contribution to fundamental fluid dynamics. It was established from an endowment fund contributed by the DFD and held by the APS. It is intended to honor a recent achievement of especially high impact and significance, a particular discovery, or an innovation in the field. Learn more >>

François Frenkiel Award for Fluid Mechanics

The Division of Fluid Dynamics awards the François Frenkiel Award to young investigators to recognize significant contributions to Fluid Mechanics that have also been published during the previous year in Physical Review Fluids. Eligible authors must have not more than 12 years of full-time employment after their most advanced academic degree was awarded, before the paper’s year of publication. Learn more >>

Invited Talks

This year, the meeting will consist of eight invited talks* on topics of broad interest to the DFD community.

  • Irmgard Bischofberger, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Instabilities and flow-induced structures in lyotropic chromonic liquid crystals
  • Sanjeeb Bose, Cascade Technologies
    Bridging the gaps for engineering design use of large-eddy simulations
  • Raúl Bayoán Cal, Portland State University
    Momentum transport in renewable energy systems: Wind and solar PV plants
  • Catherine Gorle, Stanford University
    How cityscapes catch the wind: predicting wind loading and natural ventilation
  • Corinna Maass, University of Twente
    Stop-and-go, swirling and self-throttling: Active droplets driven by chemohydrodynamic instabilities
  • Monica Martinez Wilhelmus, Brown University
    Tracing the new Arctic: Is drifting sea ice a vorticity meter of the ocean?
  • Sylvia B. Rodriguez-Abudo, University of Puerto Rico
    Coastal bottom boundary layers: Transport phenomena and grain-scale dynamics
  • Alfredo Soldati, Vienna University of Technology
    Modelling and computation of drops and bubbles in turbulence


  • Fluids next: the fluid mechanics of microplastics transport
    Organizers: Michelle DiBenedetto, University of Washington; Nicholas T. Ouellette, Stanford University
  • Reduced-order modeling in fluids via artificial and human intelligence
    Organizers: George Haller, ETH Zurich; Bernd Noack, Harbin Institute of Technology, Shenzhen
  • Astrophysical turbulence: current understanding and modeling challenges
    Organizers: Daniel Livescu and Chris Fryer, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Focus Sessions (Open to regular submissions)

  • Diversity, inclusion, and equity
    Organizers: R. Ostilla-Mónico, University of Houston; T.A. Saxton-Fox, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Fluids next: Soft body slamming fluids
    Organizer: Sunghwan Jung, Cornell University
  • Transport phenomena in active biological networks
    Organizer: Amir Pahlavan, Yale University
  • The fluid dynamics of medical imaging
    Organizers: Vitaliy Rayz and P. Vlachos, Purdue University
  • Acoustofluidics
    Organizers: James Friend, University of California San Diego; Ofer Manor, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
  • Turbulence modeling in bubble- and particle-laden multiphase flows
    Organizers: Chris Lai, Georgia Institute of Technology; Rui Ni, Johns Hopkins University